Department of Neurobiology

Old News

  • Elias Aizenman and Michael Palladino (Pharmacology) receive 2016 Kaufman Foundation Initiative Award to generate a new fruit fly model of neuroprotection more
  • Elias Aizenman receives the 2015 William E. Brown Outstanding MSTP Mentor Award
  • Department hires Dr. Christopher Donnelly as the Live Like Lou Center for ALS Research at the University of Pittsburgh Brain Institute is established
  • In the News: Pain Center helps explain itching more
  • Pitt establishes the Brain Institute more
  • Cynthia Lance-Jones and Andy Schwartz received a 2014 Chancellor’s Distinguished Teaching Award and a 2014 Chancellor’s Distinguished Research Award, respectively more (and scroll down)
  • Andy Schwartz' lab inserts computer chip in brain to control robotic arm more
  • Peter Strick elected to National Academy of Sciences more
  • Paula Monaghan recognized as a Dean's Master Educator 2013 more
  • Rebecca Seal recieves the 2013 Award in Pain from the Rita Allen Foundation and American Pain Society more
  • Peter Strick recieves the 2013 Chancellor’s Distinguished Research Award in the senior scholar category more
  • Peter Strick appointed Chairman of the Department more
  • Gonzalo Torres elected President of the Catecholamine Society more
  • John Horn is President of the International Society for Autonomic Neuroscience, 2011-2013 more
  • Elias Aizenman is President of the International Society for Zinc Biology, 2011-2012 more
  • Steven Prescott was selected as the 53rd Mallinckrodt Scholar, 2011
  • Susan Amara is President of the Society for Neuroscience, 2010-2011 more
  • Andrew Schwartz is the 2010 recipient of the Carnegie Science Award in the Life Sciences (more); and, is awarded NIH Challenge Grant in Health and Science Research
  • A. Paula Monaghan-Nichols is the 2010 honoree for the Sheldon Adler Award for Innovation in Medical Education, more
  • The following Neurobiology Faculty are the recipients of the 2010 Excellence in Education Award (more):
    John B. Schumann, PhD (Lecturer)
    Cynthia Lance Jones, PhD (Facilitator)
    Paula Monaghan-Nichols, PhD (Facilitator), see pic
  • Susan Amara received a 2010 University of Pittsburgh Chancellor’s Distinguished Research Award in the senior scholar category, more
  • Gonzalo Torres received the Presidential Early Career Award in 2009, more
  • Andy Schwartz is featured on 60 minutes more


  • October is Brain Day more
  • NIH Brain Initiative Postdoctoral Fellowship (F32) opportunity (early spring deadline) more
  • T32 training grant opportunity for postdoctoral associates, early spring deadline more
  • Hot Metal Bridge Program (two-semester post-baccalaureate fellowship program for students who meet our diversity goals now has a Neuroscience area; early spring deadline) more
  • Build a CV, add pubs/grants/teaching&professional activities, and even build your annual review; visit Faculty Information System
  • 91% of data breaches start with a phishing attack more
  • You have an ELN: visit and pick Pitt as the participating institution (and activate your account and use your Pitt creds; and, note the purple "i" button (once you login) in the upper right for help and tutorials) read why
  • You can edit Microsoft Office documents online (even if a few of you editing at the same time): visit Pitt Sharepoint
  • Secure Your Data (and click here if you don't know what sensitive data is)
  • You have unlimited cloud storage (okay, one limit: 15GB per individual file): visit Pitt Box

© Copyright 2001 - University of Pittsburgh Department of Neurobiology
Webmaster S Hunter Simpson